Getting Back Out in the World

Hello everyone! For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Montana, and I’m a certified couch potato. Or I was, until I decided to take up running. You see, I’ve never had any motivation to work out. I have an extremely high metabolism (blessed with good genes) and have never had to watch what I eat. Yes, I’m one of those really annoying people who could have Dunkin Donuts for breakfast, McDonalds for lunch and a full on steak for dinner every night and not gain weight. I don’t actually eat like that, but my point is that I don’t gain weight very easily at all. In fact, when I get sick and lose 10 lbs it takes almost 8 months (at last count) for me to put that weight back on and start fitting in my jeans again. I’ve been this way all my life, and my family has never been particularly healthy or big on working out, so I’ve never really been very excited about it either. Then, last summer (2013), I decided I wanted to run a 5k.

Now I’m also not known for sticking with workout plans. I get really into a workout plan for about 1-2 months, participate in it religiously, and then quit abruptly, little to no explanation given. The reason for this is that nearly every activity on the planet bores me. I’m one of those people who has a very short attention span for almost everything I start. This is a very bad habit, and one I’ve consistently tried to overcome, with little to no success. I could be extremely passionate about something- so passionate you’d think I bled the activity I was doing- yet still get burnt out and bored with it within 3 months tops. Knowing this, I still decided I’d like to try doing a 5k.

I began my training running every other day with the perfect app for couch potatoes like myself- couch to 5k! It gives you a specific training program, alternating running and walking for 8-12 weeks, until you have mastered the program and are ready to run a 5k. Simple, right? Not so much for me. True to my above statement, I was really into the running for about three months…pretty much the whole summer. Until… I took a cruise. And ate. A lot. And slept. A lot. And did nothing productive. You see, the hard part for me is not continuing with the program, or starting the program…it’s starting back up again after I’ve already quit. In my brain I figure, “Well, it didn’t work the first time, why should it work the second?” and I fall into the trap of never starting again. Bad habit. As I’ve repeatedly read in quotes from famous authors and other people of note, if everyone who invented something or pioneered a technique gave up after their first try at something, there wouldn’t have been light, electricity, gas, oil discoveries, automobiles, computers, or any number of other things that make living in the world so convenient nowadays, and that we take for granted on a daily basis.

So I decided to change all that. In December, my friend decided that she wanted to run the Color Run 5k because she wanted to get paint thrown on her. (I offered to grab a can of paint from work and toss it on her, but she didn’t find this comparable.) So, somewhat reluctantly, I signed up for this race with her. And began my training yet again. But this time, I’ve decided that I’ll commit to going the distance. What’s different now, you ask?

There have been a lot of changes in my life this past year, the most memorable to me of which was the ending of my 6 year relationship. Now, many of you are probably wondering what that has to do with running a 5k. The answer lies in my determination. After my relationship ended, I was a little depressed and forlorn (normal for what I went through). I had always thought that my relationship and it’s length had been a great achievement for me, since I had never stuck with anything (human, project, hobby, I mean anything that long before). So naturally, I was very disappointed and withdrawn at the closing of this chapter in my life. I felt dejected, as if I couldn’t complete anything. I felt like I had nothing left to give. And then came a moment of inspiration.

I decided that I would look at this as an opportunity to reinvent myself. What about myself was not working for me? What parts of myself did I want to change? The first thing that came to mind was that I wanted to accomplish something major- to have a goal and work towards it in a big way. I wanted to be able to say I did something awesome, that not everyone does. For me, I decided that I wanted to run a 10k by the end of 2014. And the way to start that was to get off my ass and start running! Since I had already signed up for the Color Run, I began to train for that with my handy C25K app (Couch to 5K), with the intent of downloading the 5K to 10K app when I was done. And I decided to start a blog on my progress. Hopefully by the end of the year, I will have finished a few 5Ks, and my 10K and be on the road to the ultimate goal: the Disney Princess Half Marathon. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

